Skip to content

Signature of a Memorandum of Understanding between Icelandic Stakeholders of the KMT 

KMT reached an important, symbolic milestone in October 2018. Representatives of thirteen research institutions, industry actors, and governmental agencies in Iceland signed a letter of intent, declaring their “emphatic wish to promote the establishment and development of an international centre for geothermal–  and volcanological research”. This letter of intent reflects the wide-spread societal support for the project and sets the scene for fruitful cross-agency cooperation on the road to realising KMT. A complete list of signatories can be found below.  

Georg – Geothermal Research Cluster 

Landsvirkjun, the National Power Company of Iceland  

The University of Iceland 

The University of Akureyri 

Reykjavík University  

Orkustofnun, National Energy Authority of Iceland 

Rannís, Icelandic Centre for Research 


Iceland Meteorological Office  


Icelandic Institute of Natural History  

Skútustaðahreppur municipality 

Northeast Iceland Development Agency